A Vow of Silence

It has been about a month and a half since I took my Vow of Silence.

No great difficulties encountered so far, just some minor inconveniences… and wondering about those phone calls that had to remain unanswered.

I still whisper to the cats. Very soft chanting/singing is also allowed. Laughter too, is exempted from my vow of silence… and I will not hesitate to break the vow in case of emergency! Such as needing to shout to alert someone to danger…etc.

Otherwise I am happy to remain silent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, reflections, silence

0 responses to “A Vow of Silence

  1. Wow! That’s amazing! I can’t stay quiet for more than a few minutes! 🙂

  2. Then you should try it… over a weekend or so 😉 You will be surprised at the effect! It will cut off all the small talk and you are actually experience more of what is happening around you…

  3. Broke my Vow of Silence on Dec 3rd during the rescue of Hope. It had started to rain and there was no time to be wasted by writing notes!I had wondered what my last words were in October… couldn’t remember but probably nothing worth remembering… Now I know what my last words were before I continued the silence after Hope was out of the drain. They were “Thank you!” which is nice and worth remembering :)Most of the time words are just wasted… they go unheard, or are misunderstood, are insincere… They don’t improve on the Silence!

Leave a Reply

